Jay County Agriculture Teachers and FFA Advisors: Seth Swallow Brittany Kloer, Cody Linville, and Melissa Wolters.

The Jay County High School Agriculture Teachers have served this community for almost a decade together, Melissa Wolters (14 years), Brittany Kloer (12 years), Cody Linville (11 years), and Seth Swallow (9 years).  They serve as positive role models for their students as well as those interested in a career in teaching.  Two former students, Colton Prescott (Winchester High School) and Shelbi Louck (Blackford County High School) continue to serve our communities as agricultural educators.  Currently, they have 4 Jay County High School graduates enrolled at Purdue University in the agriculture education program, Deanna Chenoweth, Ashley Alig, Carly Grieshop and Emily Farmer; with Dillon Muhlenkamp to join Purdue this fall after he finishes up his term as Indiana FFA State President. “I am extremely proud of what these two have accomplished for our community, I can’t wait to see what our next 5 will do for ag education and our state.”

Award recipients are nominated by their peers, and are described as agricultural educators whose programs show outstanding achievement and service in education.  The Jay County High School agriculture teacher’s primary goal is to help students develop into a productive citizen in our community before and after they graduate.  The Jay County Agriculture Department designs their curriculum to provide opportunities for students to prepare for a career through agricultural education courses and community service.  “We have shown our students what it is to take great pride in our community and in the process, they have become stronger leaders with a passion to serve.” Kloer said

These educators will go on to compete at the National level with results released in August.